Let's Connect on Social Media!

The No Brainer Wardrobe Review & Coupon Code

Note: The following is a review of the ebook The No Brainer Wardrobe by Hayley Morgan from Tiny Twig. I was not compensated for my review, and I paid for my own copy of The No Brainer Wardrobe.

I simply enjoyed the book so much that I asked Hayley for a coupon code for my readers. Check out my review below and pick up your copy of The No Brainer Wardrobe with the coupon code at the end of my post.

If you were to look inside my closet you would come to the following conclusions:

  • I am a conservative dresser who prefers drab neutrals over color.
  • I work in a corporate office and probably wear a suit or blazer every day.
  • I am a size 4.

While those statements were true a year ago, sadly, none of them are true today.

I’m having a wardrobe identity crisis!

Thankfully, I just bought a copy of The No Brainer Wardrobe from Tiny Twig blogger, Hayley. You might remember her very popular series, 31 Days to a No Brainer Wardrobe. Her new ebook expands on the main point of the series, how to create a capsule wardrobe.

Untitled from hayley morgan on Vimeo.

The idea of a capsule wardrobe is to only keep clothes that fit, make you feel amazing, and match the lifestyle you currently live.

Clearly, my wardrobe was coming up short. After moving from Chicago to San Francisco last summer and transitioning from working in a corporate office to working remotely from home, my clothes were stuck in another lifetime.

Stuffed shelves

Crowded hangers

Overflowing drawers

Bins of novelty shirts and too-small clothes

Following the advice in The No Brainer Wardrobe, I emptied my closet and dresser and started separating my clothes into a “No” pile of ill-fitting/conservative items, a “Maybe” pile of stuff to try on, and a “Yes” pile for things I love that fit my new lifestyle.

The huge Maybe pile

What I love about the book is that Hayley gives you clear guidelines for sorting through what works and what doesn’t. She even gives you permission to toss stuff that you’ve been holding onto out of guilt or because you spent a lot of money on it (something I tend to do).

Skyla even helped me sort my clothes:

Another section shows you how to take your Pinterest inspiration photos to create inexpensive, stylish outfits from thrift store pieces. Thrift stores intimidate me because they’re usually crowded with merchandize, and it becomes overwhelming to sort through the racks. With Hayley’s tips, I think I can finally shop a thrift store with ease.

There are also chapters on shopping for maternity clothes, dressing for your age, and dressing for a plus size body.

The No Brainer Wardrobe really is a “no brainer” resource without being condescending. My favorite part is when Hayley boldly states that “women aren’t a piece of fruit.” Don’t you hate fashion magazines that try to label you as an “apple” or “pear”? One magazine even calls a certain body type a “flute”. It’s ridiculous because we have shapes, curves, lumps, and bumps. We’re women, not inanimate objects, and Hayley gets it.

In the end, I got rid of a huge pile of suit jackets, trousers, button down blouses, and itchy business-y separates.

Here’s what my closet looks like after the transformation:

Look—there’s space between the hangers!

Finally, The No Brainer Wardrobe helped me find my “go-to” outfit; something I can throw on quickly and instantly know I’ll look and feel great. It’s a jersey cotton blazer, striped T, pendant necklace, skinny jeans, and gray flat boots.

This is how I want to dress now that I work from home; pulled together, comfortable, and not at all stuffy. I’m so excited to start shopping my closet!

Now, here’s the best part—Hayley has generously provided a coupon code for 50% off for the first 10 readers who download The No Brainer Wardrobe!

Click here to get your copy, and enter the code “sage” when you check out.

When you get your copy, come back here and let me know your favorite part of the book and share your “after” pictures.

Have you ever created a capsule wardrobe? How much of your wardrobe do you actually wear?

16 Comments

  1. Anna@ThriftyBusiness on March 6, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Boy do you know how to advertise a book 😉 I’m really intrigued now because your closet underwent quite the transformation. I remember the first time I purged my wardrobe – I was so ruthless my boyfriend was a bit concerned about the 3 bags of clothes that just left the apartment… And this is the guy who asked me if my 2 year old dress was new…

    I’m going to document was closet cleaning on my blog soon – now that’s motivation!



    • Sage on March 7, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Awesome! I love getting organized. Please share pictures of your closet cleaning.

      My wardrobe is super streamlined now. But everything goes with everything. You know how they say you wear 20% of your clothes 80% of the time? I only kept that 20% that I actually wore. I still have fun shoes and accessories so I won’t get bored.



  2. Kenesha Williams on March 6, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Thank you! I downloaded mine with your discount code yesterday because one of the areas I struggle with is clothing.



    • Sage on March 7, 2012 at 9:02 am

      You’re very welcome! I was thrilled that Hayley gave me a 50% off code. The book really helped me focus on what works for me. I’m actually happier with fewer clothes.



  3. Cara on March 5, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    I so hope to have a closet that organized when I’m done my closet clean out challenge… in a year! I’m going with the whole: “slow and steady wins the race” hoping that if I methodically weed items out, I won’t have any remorse!



    • Sage on March 7, 2012 at 9:04 am

      You’re right, there’s no need to rush. If you clean up and organize regularly, you’ll make it a habit. I’ll have to really think about it the next time I want to buy something. I need to make sure it works with my streamlined wardrobe so it’ll actually be worn.



  4. Tinfoil Tiaras on March 5, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Wow your closet looks so streamlined now and I love that you’ve found your favourite ‘go-to’ look. This is a book I desperately need- I just went thrifting and within hours had already forgotten what I’d bought, because I own so much. Just downloaded the book- eek can’t wait to read it and share my favs with you! 🙂



    • Sage on March 7, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Yea, I’m glad you got the book! It really helped me narrow down my style. Then it was easy to get rid of the items that didn’t match my vision.



  5. Callie - Coffee and Cardigans on March 5, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Looks like a great book! I know I’ve been feeling flustered by a messy and uninspiring closet lately. I love the transformation yours made! I might consider giving the book a try since the price is so good and it looks like you had good luck with it. Great review, Sage! Thanks for sharing this with us!



    • Sage on March 7, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Thanks, Callie. It was a fun book to read, and I’m loving my organized closet. I have fewer items, but I’m a lot happier with my wardrobe now. It’s not such a struggle to pull together an outfit.



  6. Cara on March 5, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Wow, your closet looks so great, and easy to navigate. I need to do a purge, I’m fantastic at cleaning out other people’s closets but my own is a wee bit cluttered. Perhaps I will give this a shot and get rid of all those skinny clothes I keep longing to fit in again 🙂



    • Sage on March 5, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      That was the tough part…getting rid of my skinny clothes. But I’d rather have clothes that fit than be reminded of my weight gain with a closet of too-small clothes. Besides, if and when I get back to my fighting weight, the styles would have changed and I’d want new clothes anyway.



  7. xvavaveganx on March 5, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Wow, what a big difference!! I have so much clothing that I NEVER wear but for some reason I just can’t bring myself to get rid of it. I think it is time to just do it because it is just silly to keep it all sitting around for no reason. Especially because it is all perfectly good clothing that can be donated and used by someone that needs it.

    It’s amazing how your closet looks so colorful now! Looks like you did a great job 🙂 And Skyla is such a pretty little helper 😉 Thanks for the review!



    • Sage on March 5, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      I want to be wearing more color, but all my colorful pieces were hiding behind my business suits. It’s more fun to pull together an outfit now.

      Skyla has decided to become a personal organizer. You can pay her in peanut butter treats. 🙂



  8. Molly on March 5, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    I’m going to get this book as soon as I’m done commenting!

    See, I totally think you have a minimalist living inside of you. This is such a practical minimalist approach to a wardrobe and is one that I’m striving towards. I, too, have many clothes that I’ve been keeping “just in case”, including smaller sizes that I’ll most likely never wear again. Thanks so much for the review and getting a coupon code!



    • Sage on March 5, 2012 at 2:32 pm

      Oh good! I really liked it, especially the pictures of the individual items that make up a capsule wardrobe.

      That’s funny that you mention there might be a minimalist living inside me. I feel that way too! I feel so much better when I pair down the number of things I own. I have fewer choices, but I’m happier with my choices.